Random Bag Night – Gut Buster Mashed Potatoes

dsc_0240

I’ve been a slacker on the cooking front this last week since I was out or away almost every night. Thankfully, my husband, who seems to be cooking a lot more than me lately, has been busy in the kitchen cleaning out what is in our fridge. Above you can see last night’s dinner creation – I’d love to give you the recipe for the pork concoction on the right but I wasn’t present when it was made and my hub couldn’t tell me what all went in. You can see, however, from the pic that it included some dried chestnuts (another Asian grocery store score), some pork butt, and some dried mushrooms.  What I could get out of him, as far as recipes go, is an insanely good and so not good for you mashed potato recipe that I can say was truly magical. Put on your elastic waistbands and here you go:

3 Lbs small red potatoes with skins on, cleaned and cut into 4s

1/2 stick salted butter

1/2 cup of Half n Half (you could use cream as well but we never keep that in the house)

4 oz blue cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Cut the potatoes and add them to a large pot of water, and allow the whole thing to come to a boil. Simmer until potatoes are soft (poke them with a fork and if they fall right off they are done) – probably at least 15 minutes of simmering. Drain the potatoes and place them in a bowl. Add the cream and butter and a generous pinch of salt (and pepper if you like it). Use a hand mashed to smash the potatoes, skins and all, and incorporate the cream and melty butter. Once reasonablly well mashed, crumble blue cheese into the mix, taste for seasoning & adjust for salt & pepper. Stir to combine the blue cheese into the potatoes.

Yeah, my pants are tight but my belly is oh so happy.

Leave a Reply

