Indian Inspired Shrimp with Pineapple Chutney and Crispy Kale

dsc_0180-1

I finally got a response to a post I made a while ago looking for suggestions of new spices to try, and the suggestion was to check out a website with Indian and Pakistani food. I love Indian food and generally what little I know of Middle-East cuisine as well so I conjured up a shrimp dish tonight using that inspiration and paired it with an experimental kale dish. This is really 3 recipes in 1 post but let’s start with the shrimp:

1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used olive)

Juice of 1 lime

1 (1 inch) piece of jalapeno chopped, more if you like it hotttt

1 (1 inch) piece of fresh ginger

1 large garlic clove

2 teaspoons garam masala

3/4 teaspoon tumeric

1 lb of shrimp

Take all of the ingredients except for the shrimp and place into a food processor. Puree until smooth and then pour over the shrimp and allow it to marinate for at least 30 mins. Once the shrimp is ready, pour a little more oil into a sauce pan and put the heat on high, sautee shrimp until cooked through (maybe 6 or 7 minutes). You can also grill the shrimp on skewers if you like. I served the shrimp on top of some plain whole wheat cous cous, you could also use rice or nothing at all.

While the shrimp is marinating, you can make this crazy crispy kale dish. I haven’t really tried much kale but while I was home over the weekend and watching Jacques Pepin I saw him make this recipe and I had to try it. Simply take a bunch of kale and remove the leaves, break them into smallish pieces and place in a large bowl. Drizzle lightly with olive oil and toss to coat, and then spread the leaves out in a thin layer on a rack set on top of a cookie sheet (so the heat can get underneath as well). Sprinkle with kosher salt. Bake in an oven at 250 degrees for about 25 minutes. The kale will be as crispy as potato chips:

dsc_0177-11

And last but not least, the pineapple “chutney”. It was supposed to be a mango chutney of sorts but the mangoes in the store tonight were not ripe, so I decided that the tang of pineapple would do just fine. I could shovel this chutney into my mouth on its own with nothing else, but it went very well with the spice of the shrimp and the saltiness of the kale. Here is the recipe:

1.5 cups of chopped ripe pineapple

juice of 1/2 of a lime

1 handful cilantro leaves and stems, chopped

3 tablespoons chopped fresh mint

1/2 shallot, finely chopped

1/2 cucumber finely chopped

2/3 teaspoon of cumin (ground)

pinch of salt

Combine the ingredients in a small bowl and allow to sit for a bit while the flavors mingle. It’s yummy and reminds me that spring and summer aren’t that far off!

dsc_0175-1

One Response

  1. I am sitting down to this meal and it is really good.

    I had to improvise a bit because the mangoes that I bought from the store ended up being rotten when I opened them and all I had at home were some navel oranges. It adds a nice tangy flavor to the chutney.

    The spices in the shrimp came out a bit dense. I think I didn’t have quite a whole pound of shrimp. I think I would try this again and add cocnut milk to the marinade to mellow and sweeten it just a bit.

    As for the Kale, well I ALWAYS love kale. I have had Kale this way before but it was baked at a higher temperate for half the time. The lower temp for longer is much better. It cooked more evenly and didn’t brown as much.

    All in all definitely glad I tried this recipe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

