Random Bag Night – Leftover Lentil Soup with a Poached Egg

dsc_0165-11

So, lucky girl that I am, I got to go shopping with my girlfriends yesterday while my husband ran errands and made a delicious lentil soup with a ham bone we had brought home from my in-laws house. The soup is delicious on its own, with the ham adding a nice saltiness to the otherwise healthy lentils, carrots, celery, onions and mushrooms.

Tonight I pulled some out of the fridge and tossed it into a pot, bringing it to a boil. Once it was steaming and bubbly, I decided to tart it up a bit so I cracked an egg in there and poach it. YUM ! To finish, I doused it with some grated Parmesan and HECK YEAH, it is tayyyyssteee.

Other options for dressing up leftover lentil soup –

-Saffron yogurt gives it a great tang – recipe here: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/lively-up-yourself-lentil-soup-recipe.html

-A handful of spinach or chard leaves, and a squeeze of lemon juice

-Cook the soup down until it is thickened significantly, toss on a tortilla with cheese, sour cream and salsa

-Add other kinds of beans to it – kidney, white beans, chick peas – some parsley, and maybe even a healthy dash of curry powder

All kinds of ways to dress up this leftover pot of soup !

One Response

  1. And how lucky am I to have found such a creative cook! I love to be adventurous in my kitchen, too!

    http://heyclaire.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

