Mark Bittman’s No Knead Bread Recipe

dsc_0093

I am always talking smack about the breads available in Boston, or lack thereof, and so my husband and I figured it might be fun to try and make our own crusty creation. I think your taste in bread, like many things, is formed by what was available in your neighborhood growing up. In my case, growing up in Philly, it was Amoroso rolls and crusty Italian bread from Sams Italian Grocery.

My husband is the dough guru in our household, so on Saturday he pulled together a bread dough using the following recipe from Mark Bittman and the New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2006/11/08/dining/081mrex.html . He followed the directions exactly, making the dough yesterday afternoon and allowing it to rise overnight. There is very little active time on this recipe, no kneading and no voodoo needed.  He baked the bread this morning and the result was a perfect crusty chewy loaf of bread which we served with brunch today.

9 Responses

  1. WOW!! I am so going to try this bread recipe.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Hopefully mine will turn out as beautiful as the loaf pictured here!

  2. Seriously, it is the best most ridiculously easy recipe. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did !

  3. […] husband is baking bread again (the no-knead recipe posted here: https://theripetomato.wordpress.com/2009/01/11/mark-bittmans-no-knead-bread-recipe/  – only this time he is making two flavors = whole grain and lemon rosemary. I’ll post some […]

  4. […] I can safely say that many of my readers are bread fans, namely the No Knead recipe I posted here a while back. I agree, that bread is fantastic and very easy to execute. My hubby, the chief dough […]

  5. I have looked all over for the Bitmans No Knead Bread recipe…..I was wondering if you could please email me the recipe…..Thanks

  6. Hi, the link for the recipe is here: http://www.nytimes.com/2006/11/08/dining/081mrex.html?_r=1

  7. The texture and crust is exactly what we wanted in a bread. Now we’re wondering if someone has used this method to make a sourdough bread.

  8. Would love to know if someone has… Love me some sourdough!

  9. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

